top of page

Day trips from Amsterdam: Maastricht

Ready to get away from the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam & want to experience traditional Dutch village life? So far I've managed to visit four different towns/villages, varying from 20 minutes - three hours from Amsterdam, that I would definitely recommend if you're looking to explore the less touristy and more traditional side of The Netherlands.

First up Maastricht: This is actually the first town I visited after arriving in Amsterdam. I would describe it as a quaint, smaller, less touristy, scaled back version of Amsterdam. As I was only there for a day, we had time for a quick tour, stopping by old castles and strolling through the Sunday market as well as a pit stop to meet my friends from Sussex uni (who are doing their study abroad in Maastricht (shoutout Clara and Daisy xxx)) at Alley Cat Bikes and Coffee ( a café but also a bike shop? & they have a dog?)

Enjoy x


Recent Posts
bottom of page