top of page

My Top 5 Study Abroad Tips

Thinking of studying abroad in Amsterdam, or just studying abroad in general? Well you're in the right place. Below are my top 5 tips (so far) to make the most of your study abroad.


1. Seize every opportunity you have

By this I mean attend those events that that one person you met that time asked you to go to (they may turn out to be your best friends). Having said this, remain true to yourself, if you feel the exhaustion kicking in don't force yourself into something just for the sake of it. You know yourself best, do what makes you happy.


2. Explore, explore, explore...

I'm about half way through my year abroad now and I can officially say that Amsterdam feels like home. I'm not relying on google maps (as much..) as I bike through the city, I can actually give recommendations to people who are coming to visit & I am well and truly deep into the Dutch education system (which btw is way harder than anticipated). All of the above means that life abroad has now become my new norm, it's easy to forget that in about five months it will all be over. So my advice is don't forget you're still abroad, there's still so much more to see and do, get involved and go explore!


3. ISN (International Student Network Amsterdam)

If it wasn't for ISN I wouldn't have met some of my closest friends, now called 'the Amsterjam Gang' and been given the opportunity to travel as much as I have. Before even having arrived in Amsterdam I had heard about ISN and how they would be holding an 'Introduction Week' in which we could meet people and do various activities from sports days, boat tours, parties to brunches. It sounded great to me, so I signed up and took a look at their website, I then saw vacancies to become part of the PR & Funding Committee. Now I am part of Helena's PR and Funding team (shout out to the committee, we miss you Diana), and have just finished helping at the second semester's introduction week. Check out their website for all the fun activities coming up. Even if you're not studying in Amsterdam, ESN (Erasmus Student Network) operates all over Europe, so just search for one near you!


4. Flights!

If you know when you're going to be going home for Christmas/Easter book your flights in advance and get them for as little as £40 return (London-Amsterdam)!


5. Document your travels

Whether it be through a blog, a journal, pictures, or a video. You'll want to look back and remember every moment!



Recent Posts
bottom of page